About District 3

Rockridge Sign The San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit System, which is recognized by California as a special district, is composed of 9 districts within the counties of Alameda, Contra Costa and San Francisco. Each district has one BART Board Director, and voters may only vote for their district’s director. BART districts are mapped to contain a population of 372,000 defined by the census, and the last time this map was updated was in 2001.

Google Map Layout of BART Election Districts

District 3 represents a central part of the BART system, covering much of East bay, but excludes the high density parts of of Oakland. The Director of this district is responsible for the most BART stations of any Director:

  • Bay Fair
  • Downtown Berkeley
  • Lafayette
  • North Berkeley
  • Orinda
  • Rockridge
  • San Leandro
  • El Cerrito Del Norte (Partial – shared with district 7)
  • El Cerrito Plaza (Partial – shared with district 7)

BART Map of District 3 – PDF


As one of 2 multi-county Directors the District 3 BART Director serves an important set of cities and communities between Alameda and Contra-Costa County:

  • AlbanyOrinda Downtown from BART Station
  • Ashland (unincorporated)
  • Berkeley
  • Canyon (unincorporated)
  • Cherryland (unincorporated)
  • Eastport (unincorporated)
  • El Cerrito
  • Hillcrest Knolls (unincorporated)
  • Kensington (unincorporated)
  • Lafayette
  • Moraga
  • Orinda
  • Oakland
  • Piedmont
  • San Leandro
  • San Lorenzo
  • Valle Vista (unincorporated)
  • other unincorporated parts of Alameda and Contra Costa Counties

The current BART Board Director is Rebecca Saltzman. She is also running for re-election for District 3.